It is my understanding that Somaliland receives around five hundred tourists a year. We were three. But within a single day, street assaults over tattoos meant we were two. Then one.

Naturally, it was an extremely difficult place to film. I did my best with what I could.


That said, I had a unique and life-affirming visit and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Wonderful Somaliland people helped me get this footage without asking for a single thing in return, and showed me kindness that one usually reserves for family. We met hundreds of educated, friendly, progressive humans, many of whom are international leaders their field. Everywhere is a spectrum, and in Somaliland we saw it all. Their work and their desire for freedom deserves recognition well beyond what it has received. A massive thanks to everyone who welcomed us and helped me film without disruption. You quite literally made this season possible.

As this is the first real video I’ve filmed entirely by myself, and among Kata’s first edits, we’re both pretty nervous. It’s a sensitive topic. But she did a triathlon this morning and did her best ever, so I feel that’s a good omen. As she always reads this stuff religiously, I’m gonna sneak a note to her in here: Congrats Kata! You’re the fastest person of all the people.

Thanks for watching, all. Somaliland was a wild week for us. Hope you like what it produced.

Your support keeps us going:

Follow our Instagram:…

Follow my twitter:

Merch (more designs to come):

This video was made possible thanks to our incredible Patreon subscribers Aaron lx, Abram Blocton, Adam Theo, Alan Bryce, Alberto Daval Cordeiro Araujo, Alf Einar Solberg, Alejandro Fuentes Salazar, Alex Garland, Alex Van de Sande, Alex Ross, Alexis Michelle Smith, Amay Khara, Amity Marshall, Andres Rama, Andrew, Andrew Larson, Anina Shaorandra, Aqeel Fassuhudeen, Arne ‘S Jegers, Audrey Brown, Austin Cousineau, Ben Hewitson, Bonnie Lee, Blue Penguin, Bradley Brown, Brian ONeel, Bruno Mikuš, Carl Bodnaruk, Catherine Berry, Chris Ferguson, Christ k, Christoph Dietl, Christopher Castro, Cody Belichesky, CompConf, Connor, Damon Yi Hao, Daniel Demsky, Daniel Lee, Daniel Sierra Matus, Daniel Tyler, David Johnson, David James McConnell, David Benjamin, David Rowe, David Lister, David Badilotti, Dénes Berk, Denise Lipscombe, Djof, Douglas Danger Manley, Edee Nackers, Edward Sykes, Einar Holmedal, Eric Downes, Erik Ensing, Ethnis Studio, f1r3w4rr10r, feo, Fiona Cameron-Mackintosh, Flight Chops, flox, Fridtjof Mahnke, Frode Thomassen, Gabe S, Gavin Cross, Gerardo Garcia Mendez, Ggamefreak22, Giffy, Gilberto Hart, Giulian Fava, Gregory Stutheit, Hedi Zisling, Heikki Tiainen, Henderson Moret, Hollis Davis, Ian Smith, Isaac Langille-LaBerge, J Neko, Jacob Ruder, Jaime Jewer, James Clayton Bowman, James Mari, Jamie Cox, Jan Langguth, Jan Vilhuber, Jarod Hoffarth, jaycornonthecob, Jeremy Wheelis, Jerome, Jessica Mayberry, Joachim Nygaard Kvam, Jochim Timmermann, John Abel, John adams, John Cline, John Goff, John Jenkins, Jon Niezgoda, Jonathan Webb, Jonathan Lonowski, Josh Hoppes, Joshua Hutchison, Joshua Clarke, Julia Thiele, Julian Fiander, Kaitlin Wadley, Keaton Denney, Kemp, Kenan Klisura, Kevin Lee, Kidd Mclayer, Kristjan Kalve, L W, Lars Hjort Christensen, Leo Höppner, Leszek Szczepański, Levi, Lex, Liam Oliver-Mallory, Liam Gilles, Liam Cooper, Lorenz, Lucas van wijk, Lukas Jackowski, Akasha Yi, MacFoxington, Mad Sumac, Manuel Martin, Marc Chang, Marek Slabicki, Mariné Avagyan, Markus, Markus Sawinski, Martin Faszinka, Martin Hölzel, Marty Otzenberger, Matt, Matthew Benteau, Matthias Kleveta, Melanie Sumner, Mengde Wang, Merodac, Michael Belde, Michael Cao, Michael Earle, Michael Wladysiak, Michael, Michael Teesdale, Michael Loken, Mike Pearce, Mladen Piasetskyi, MrElk, Muncorn, Narskogr, Nathaneal Register, Natsumeg, Niclas Andersson, Nicolas Alexander Schmitt, Noah Hawkes, Nyan Saik Krat, Orofino, Ossian, Patrick Griffis, Patrick W., Paul Cleeves, Paul Estella, Paulina Jonušaitė, Peaceful Conquest, Penny Brown, Peter Bjorvand, Peter Wood, Peter Lonjers, Petr Dolezal, Pieter Algera, Rabin Pun, Remi_Scarlet, Rob Rose, Robert Velten, Rocky Yip, Roger Roca, Ron Warris, Ruddy Ezequiel Arroliga, sam, Sean Lavery, Sergey Chukanov, setoh, sharpie660, Shawn Wang Williams, Shayne Stride, Shravan Bendapudi, Simen Thoresen, Simon Tobar, Stephen Morrissey, Steve Martin De Souza, Svein Ove Aas, Taé Tran, Tad Moore, Teo Cherici, This Has Not Gone Well, Thomas Paris, Tianyu Ge, Tino Dervisagic, TJ Zimmerman, Trance Cat, Travis L Parker, Twisol, Unnamed Muffin, Tyler Meshkinyar, Varun Perumal, Victor Szeto, Walter Schneider, Wes Mills, Willian Andersen, Whitefang, Wolf Gratz, Yash Jain, Zach Kuzmicz and Zachary Hall. We love you guys!

Thanks for watching! You’re clearly one of the good ones.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.